XUPWUP.NL
Login
Or create an account

Question about Tower Defense game

0 Posted 18 Jul 2014
m
mrdeath4
Hi man! I found ur TD game and I loved it. Great job man. And I deceided to do a similar one. But I am just learning js. So I've got a few problems. Can U explain some of ur code to me?

1. How is the tower building realized?
2. How is the hover over the board realized?

http://learn.javascript.ru/play/35puh
here is some code. Why it doesnt work? There is a trouble with coordinates.
1 Posted 18 Jul 2014
Rick Hendricksen
Administrator
Your first mistake, shown in the browser's debugger, is "event is not defined", so you can fix that by adding the parameter "event" on line 48.

Next, onmouseover behaves a little strange, it only does something when the mouse first "enters" the canvas. You want it to keep doing something, so you should use addEventListener which behaves the way you want. See code below:
  1. canvas.addEventListener("mousemove", function (event){
  2. mouseMove(event);
  3. if (createTower || true){ // i added "|| true" for testing, remove this when you start using createTower
  4. context.fillStyle = "#29FF37";
  5. context.fillRect(ingameX*cellSize, ingameY*cellSize, cellSize, cellSize); // i removed "+ ingameX"
  6. }
  7. });

Now you probably want to repaint the application constantly. You already have a bit of code that draws the grid, so make that a function:

1. function draw(){
  2. context.clearRect(0,0,canvas.width,canvas.height);
  3. for (var i=0; i<(n+1); i++){
  4. context.beginPath();
  5. context.moveTo(i * cellSize, 0);
  6. context.lineTo(i * cellSize, cellSize * n);
  7. context.strokeStyle = '#D3D3D3';
  8. context.stroke();
  9. context.closePath();
  10. context.beginPath();
  11. context.moveTo(0, i * cellSize);
  12. context.lineTo(cellSize * n, i * cellSize);
  13. context.strokeStyle = '#D3D3D3';
  14. context.stroke();
  15. context.closePath();
  16. }
  17. // draw towers here
  18. }